Saturday, February 8, 2014

wats faster: a nitro rc car or an electric brushless rc car?




victor





Answer
Most electric rc cars are slower than a nitro.
You CAN get a big motor designed for bigger machines (the big electric helis, for example) and put them in with a much bigger battery, and make the electric faster, but by the same argument, you CAN put in a bigger nitro motor.

If speed is your main concern, nitro is for you.

What are the fastest Electric RC Cars?




who?


What are some brands/companys that sell the fastest electric radio controlled cars? If you could provide a link that'd be great! Something over 50+ MPH is what I'm looking for... any ideas?! Thanks


Answer
Ooh, well ok.
Lots do. For that sort of speed, you need a brushless set up. There are two ways of achieving this. The first is to buy a basic buggy/truggy or whatever, then upgrade it. Basic buggies will costs about.. $130/£100 ish. The brushless conversions are about $150 £110 ish. (Excuse my poor exchange rate here.) Or, secondly, you could get a ready built brushless. For instance; http://www.speedymodels.com/traxxas-slash-vxl-116th-scale-1826-p.asp (british link, you can do the leg work yourself here, i know theyre sold in the US.) This car is about a foot long, can do upto 50, ridiculous power in a tiny package.
Ready built brushless tend to be less hassel, and better lasting than ones you convert yourself.

Or, if your a little more with the money; http://www.losi.com/Products/Default.aspx?ProdID=LOSB0101 is a 1/10th scale brushless.

Eitherway, to get that sort of speed, you need to 'invest' quite alot of money.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

electric car? helpp?

Q. okay im turning 16 next year late september. i want a car that plugs in or doesnt take any gas whatsoever.

it has to be cheap. like really cheap. but all sugestions i will look at.
i have seen one at a funereal and the car diedi guess they didnt charge it but i want one.
i cant find any really.
also it can be powered by water too.
no hydrogen b/c i dont trust the bags it is in. i watched a video in science and if the bag busts then i might die. so yeah.
when i say hydrogen i meant the bags of hydrogen its a bag that can strech and the hydrogen soaks in the bag material and stays in there.


Answer
electric cars( that actually work) are new you wont find one cheap, they made a bunch in the early 90s but they sucked, you would have to buy one new and new cars are expensive. alternatively you can get a diesel car and convert it to run on used vegetable oil very cheaply, and get free fuel from restaurants, but it takes work because you need to talk to the restaurants and get them to give it to you, it becomes a problem with long distance driving.

also since most electricity is made from burning fossil fuels and it takes more, you actually increase your carbon footprint with electric cars usually(just so you know)

that other guy is wrong though there is a pure water car but it isnt commercially sold in the states one that converted it wouldnt work because the energy needed to separate it is the same as is given off by combining them making a car that did that completely useless because the energy would equalize resulting in no power to anything else
there is also one that runs on compressed air currently being sold in inda

Anyone know where I can buy an electric car?




Desertdwel


Gas at Chevron is $4.10. I'm tired of it.


Answer
Unfortunately the only highway capable electric car currently in production is the Tesla Roadster. Another unfortunate thing is all 600 of 2008 units have been sold and many of the 2009 are gone too. Unfortunate number 3 is the price tag is $100,000 and going up due to foreign currency exchange rates.

The next group of electric cars are the Neighborhood Electric Vehicles (NEV) some times called Low speed Electric Vehicles (LEV). They have an upper speed limit of 25 or 35 MPH depending which state they're in. They are available NOW in almost all states. Google names like ZENN, Dynasty IT, Miles Electric, GEM, ZAP. They are available now but have limitations being designed for putting around within 20 miles of home.

There are a couple of highway vehicles coming before 2010. Both ZENN and Miles plan to have regular sedans ready by 2009. Another is Phoenix Motors with their SUT and SUV. Tesla has already started work on their affordable sedan, code name white star, and hopes to have it on the road before 2010.

2010 is going to be a magic year. Chevrolet will have their Volt ready by November with the 2011 model year. It's not much of an EV, only goes 40 miles on electricity then the gas powered range extender kicks in to power the car. At least 3 Japanese companies, Subaru, Mitsubishi, and Nissan will begin importing full Battery Electric Vehicles (BEV) that get at least 80 MPC and more likely 120 MPC.

All I can tell you is, that you'll have to wait. Because in 2003 GM and the other car makers decided to DESTROY all of the EV's they had made in the pursuit of greed. See the film "Who Killed the Electric Car" for all of the idiotic details.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

how can i get free electric bike manufacturer directory of Europe?




Tammy


this is my site,and i want to export to foreign,but i have no free electric bike manufacturer directory .
what i have in hand is totally out of useat all.
http://www.aurora-bike.com/products/ebike/EB03-26.html



Answer
http://www.ev-info.com/en/electric-bicycles-manufacturers.html

I think this site (link) will best suit your needs.
SHORT EXCERPT:

Quote:


".....The new Dutch bike brand Urban Arrow makes smart urban bikes. Our 1st electric transport bike is designed for families with young kids that want a green, affordable and time saving alternative for their city cars.

We re-invented the transport bike: a fresh design, composed out of light, safe and comfortable materials, equipped with
a powerful German made electric pedal assist and built with
A-branded components.

The modular frame makes it possible to attach a different front frame, resulting in a regular transport e-bike or in a 3 wheeled cargo e-bike.
Urban Arrow will be distributed and serviced via selected independent bike dealers.wwww.urbanarrow.com
....
Christina Bikes - NetherlandsGreen power

Christiania goes electric! De Green Power heeft een krachtige motor en een afneembare 9 Ah Lithium Ion accu op de bagagedrager. Dat is lekker licht fietsen! Nu in twee uitvoeringen, met lange en korte bak.www.christina.nl
....
Malaguti - ItalyMalaguti and the environment

The production of motor-vehicles offering design and performance combined with a reduced consumption and a lower environmental impact is among the main targets of Malaguti, always caring about the environmental issues.
On the threshold of the new millennium Malaguti was already one of the first companies worldwide to market an electric bicycle as well as conceive and create an electric scooter, in order to offer effective solutions for both the urban commuting needs and the pollution issues.

In fact, in the year 2000 two brand-new products were introduced: CIAK Electric Power, a zero-emission electric scooter, and Pedalight, an electrically assisted bicycle, two different ways to offer an alternative urban mobility solution.

By now environmental sustainability is essential for a product to be successful.

The consciousness that our planet needs our moral and active engagement found fertile ground at Malaguti especially with regard to engines, with the introduction of alternative dual drive vehicles.

In November 2008 Malaguti presented at EICMA (International Bicycle and Motorcycle Exhibition) its first prototype of a scooter with HYBRID ENGINE. ...."

What are the Pro's and Con's to having an electric tank?




Teegan


This kid in my class seems to think that an electric tanks is better than ones that use gas.


Answer
I assume you mean battle tanks such as the Panzer, the Sherman, the T-38.

Is he nuts? Obviously he has not studied real history. Mobile mechanized warfare mobility is absolutely essential, and at any time. An electric car has a hard enough time running for more than one hour weighing in at maybe 2600 pounds before the batteries are added in. How far does he think a vehicle weighing 60 tons will go with enough room for maybe three times that of a car in batteries?

What happens when the batteries die? If you are in that tank, you are called "easy targets." Especially when a long drawn out battle ensues like that at Kursk in WW2. A battery powered tank would be a severe liability, even if well dug in.

Rommel did not lose to Montgomery in North Africa because his extension cords were not long enough, or the sun did not shine long enough- he lost because he became vulnerable by running out further than his support battalions could keep up. Plus Motgomery's men figured out how to make the 2 pounders in their Pershings actually have effect on the German tanks- point blank range targetting. (spitting distance)

So the idea of an electric tank is fanciful- real world technology on the other hand can outrun and outlast a battery powered tank.

The original government RFP for what became the M1 Abrahms originally stipulated the engine must capable of running on any fuel- gasoline, diesel, heating oil, or mix thereof. Chrysler's entry used a turbine. GM used a more conventionaly modified diesel. Battereis are only for starting and excess electric loads- not motion.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Who are Kid Rock's parents?




Irene L


I know he was born in Romeo, Mi.; but I have people telling me that he is the son of Hank Williams Jr. and I know that he is not. Also can anyone tell me who is Hank Williams Jr. son and is he a singer? Thank you! Irene


Answer
Kid Rock's real name is Robert James Ritchie .
Kid's father is Bill Ritchie, a retired car salesman

It was rumored that Hank Williams Jr. is his is father. Hank Williams Jr is one of his heroes, but not his father. The two have performed together and the rumor may have been prompted by a track from one of Hank Jr.s' albums on which Kid Rock plays electric guitar. Hank Jr. introduces him as his "rebel son."

Hank Williams Jr. is the father of five children: Shelton Hank Williams (Hank Williams III) , Hilary Williams , Holly Williams, Katharine Diane Williams, and Samuel Williams.


Hank Williams III tours regularly with his country band, The Damn Band and his metal band Assjack. He is also a member of Superjoint Ritual.

Have you ever hot wired .............a matchbox car?

Q.


Answer
no, but i did have this cool race track as a kid, electric and the lights on the cars worked....till my sis took one of the cars to show and tell....it never came home

LOL




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Friday, February 7, 2014

what were those race track toys with the electric cars?




Bee.


its a older kids toy and they were different electric cars, i use to have them but cannot remember what the hell they were called.


Answer
slot cars

What are 12v kids electric cars like?




Ryan


buying my nephew one for Christmas. He's 3. Any advice also please.


Answer
PLEASE don't buy one for your nephew! I beg you.

1. He's only 3 years old. What are the odds that he is going to drive into something and get hurt?

2. Kids don't get enough exercise as it is, does he really need an electric car where he just sits in it? Get him a tricycle or something like that where he needs to pedal it.

3. I know you want to be the "cool" uncle, but don't you think a 3 year old with an electric car is pretty spoiled and ridiculous?

Get him a toy where he can burn off some energy (like a bike) or can learn something (like a leapfrog).




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What are your views on discipline?




Brat


Discipline is a rough subject, because everyone has different views. I am trying to get new ideas for my kids.

I believe every child has a discipline that works for them. I also believe that torture tactics are not discipline but are child abuse. I think that spanking is OK if you have control over yourself and don't take out all your aggression on your child. I also feel that spanking is more to get their attention rather than to hurt them. I am not going to say you are a bad parent if you spank. Again every child has a discipline that works for them.

What do you do for discipline in your house?
F Palmer that is child abuse. You can go to jail for that. I would find a better discipline technique if I were you before you lose your kids.



Answer
1. Don't try to discipline when you are angry. That's when it is time to hand the punishment over to your spouse before you loose your cool (or take your own time out to cool down first). There were may times my wife and I had to tag team to keep our cools. If a child can make you angry they have already won. If you are married, back each other 100% infront of the kids. If you have an issue with your spouse about a punishment go into another room, resolve it between the two of you and if needed let the parent that issued the punishment edit the punishment.

2. Don't give unlimited threats. Our kids knew that they had three warnings. The warnings were explicit "I've told you once", "I've told you twice, if you do that again this will happen", "Third time, punishment immedialy if at all possible". If one of us parents got to the number three the kids knew they were not going to like what happened. Both of the kids knew that up front from the time they were toddlers. This has the added benifit that the warnings and punishment are over before you loose your cool.

3. Be consistant if something is worth punishing for the first time its worth punishment the next 30 times. Then it is easy to as them the question "What happens when you throw you cars at the dog?" and they know "I can't play with the cars for 3 minutes". If they already knew the answer they didn't get three more warnings, only the one for that day. Be ready to go right back a refer to rule #2

4. We tried to make the punishment fit the crime. For example
Too loud in the house = "You can't use inside voice" = Go outside,
Banging a toy on the table/TV/dog = TOY goes into time out until it can play nice,
Screaming/hitting others =Time out 1 minute for each year of age. Any longer than that and they forgot why they were in time out. (Yes, we had to sit in time out with them at times) and it always started over when they left time out early. We didn't use a timer (until they were 7-9 yrs old) to reenforce that we the parents were in control of the situation and had not turned it over to an inatimate object.
Slamming a door in anger ment they were to "little" to have a door and the door to their room was taken off its hinges and they had to dress in the bathroom for a couple of days and for my daughter that ment she couldn't keep her little brother out of her room. (The last time I had to do that to her she was eight and she had a TEMPER at that age)

4 The only sure way they got a spanking was for out and out defiance. (My son earned more of these). He's still stubborn but now there are other things that can be used that have more impact than spanking a 14 yr old (i.e. no electric conviniences -- game system, ipod,cel phone or I can add extra chores (I save a list of those always on hand just in case. These chores are also a good to use in bartering with my kids for extra money/that game they just have to have))

5 Only fight a war with your kids if you have to, but if you do win and win decisively. Most things don't require war and a simple redirection will do.
Kids are to loud time to go outside.
Kids are whining time for a nap.
Kids to sleepy to get up in the morning kids go to bed 30 minutes earlier tonight. Yeah they don't like it and it's an inconvience to stop what you are doing to enfore it, but worth it. But there are times: my daughter decided (age 4) that she was not going to wear a seat belt and could play with the car door so she un-buckled her car seat while I was driving and would not stop. So after Dad spanked her and move her carseat away from the window, I told her that if she ever wanted a war to bring it on because if it was worth it I'd fight the war of the will and would alway win. After that incident any time she decided that she was about ready to push me (or my wife) to the limit. I could ask her if it was really worth going to war to have her way, she would sheepishly say no bite her lip and change her tune. The only reason this works is if you are willing to wage and win the war even if it would embarass you.

All this being said I have to hand it to any single parent that is or has raised a child by themselves. My hat is off to you.

Graduation party mix?




matt b


Throwing mid day outdoor grad party. Ages of guests 20-50s. Need a great mixtape celebration/graduation themed. Help! Thanks!


Answer
1. One Step Beyond
2. Baggy Trousers
3. Macarena
4. The Ketchup Song
5. Swing The Mood
6. Cotton-Eye Joe
7. La Bamba
8. The Can Can
9. Who Let The Dogs Out
10. Club Tropicana
11. I'm Your Man
12. Greased Lightning
13. Cuba
14. Just A Little Bit
15. Footloose
16. Walkin' On Sunshine
17. Car Wash
18. Billie Jean
19. We Are Family
20. Bee Gees Medley
a) Stayinâ Alive b) Jive Talkinâ c) Night Fever d) You Should Be Dancing
1. Dancing Queen
2. Waterloo
3. Mama Mia
4. How Will I Know
5. Don't Leave Me This Way
6. Don't You Want Me
7. Girls On Film
8. Material Girl
9. Electric Avenue
10. 1999
11. Venus
12. The Time Warp
13. Daydream Believer
14. Stand And Deliver
15. Crocodile Rock
16. A Hard Dayâs Night
17. The Boys Are Back In Town
18. White Wedding
19. Kids in America
20. Gold




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Friend sort of insulting me without realising?




applejuice


Sometimes my friend says things that upset me a bit but I don't think she realises. Like when we were at a party, I didn't know many people there and some people sort of glossed over me because they didn't know me but I met a few new people and I said to my friend that I felt a bit left out or whatever and she was like, 'yeah, because we're loners'. I know she's probably joking and everything but sometimes things hit me deep.And like I wasn't wearing any make up and she said to my other friends that we'd look so bad because we weren't wearing any. I dunno, she sort of groups me with her and makes me feel really stupid sometimes. Am I just taking this too much to heart dyou think?


Answer
you're lucky to have a friend that tells you like it is.

better than having what they used to call a ' yes-man' telling you anything you wanted to hear, thinking that would make you feel better.

her honesty and bluntness about yourselves gives you the opportunity to improve yourself... you were glossed over at the party..she didn't say it was becuz you smelled of last month's period and that evening's piss, she said you were loners... get real.

and you prolly did look bad without your makeup..and rather than have you develop a character of the skanky girl with the skanky butt ugly friend, she make excuses for you both, saying it was simply a lapse in grooming..

I remember growing up, and the kids on my block would go play with the kids on other blocks..like in baseball and basketball...our block was by no means poor, but the kids on the other block considered themselves better, cuz their houses were either a little bigger, or their parents were of mixed races, mostly either italian or german women, married to black veterans who brought them home with the laundry from WW2...

one guy in particular, who is black/italian mixed, was nice enough...we all played ball one day and then he invited us all to his house to play some board games..video games were science fiction.

we were all sitting around the kitchen table when his mother, a full blooded italian, came home...she immediately bustled in, looked at us all, turned up her nose ,and said ' it smells like goat in here!" and strode out of the room,.. i then piped up and said something about me and my next door neighbor take showers daily...

my next door neighbor was mortified,,,and he brought that scene back up later in the streets..it became a turning point in our lives and relations to each other..why?

cuz some immigrant who actually had goats in her kitchen back home, had the audacity to consider us dirty...cuz my neighbor, whom i accepted as an equal, forgot that his family was in fact poor, dirty, and the stereotype of southern blacks up north in the 60's, with a used beat up cadillac for the family car, furniture on lay away, carpet with a clearly visible trail of dirt leading from the front door to the kitchen, twenty kids and a tired mom and beat down dad working five jobs just to pay the electric bill..

dude was mad at me for speaking up for him on his behalf...he found it 'embarrassing' that i should say we both shower at home.....what did he think the italian boys' mother meant by saying we smelled like goats?

your friend sees things as they are, but tries to soften the blow for you...tell you what;

get your act together, with or without her, and the comments will stop, cuz you'll already be cool.

is there a power wheel type toy for a 5 almost 6 year old?




Lisa Grego


My kids have never had one and we are finally financially well enough to get them each one. I am struggling to find one that my daughter will fit. She is only 40lbs at the moment but she is 3ft 10in. She is quite tall. If you could help me find one for her that would be great.


Answer
The top five Power Wheels vehicles are:
Power Wheels Fisher Price Barbie Smart Car retails for approximately $260
Power Wheels Fisher Price Stinger XS retails for approximately $250
Power Wheels Fisher Price A.T. Rex with Monster Traction retails for approximately $250
Power Wheels Cadillac Escalade retails for approximately $300
Power Wheels A.T. Rex Electric Ride On retails for approximately $250

The Jeep Hurricane is a good Power Wheels ride on toy, but it is definitely not the "best of the Power Wheels" line of ride on toys. The Cadillac Escalade will give you more bang for your buck.

The biggest problem with the Jeep Hurricane is that allthough it advertises as an "off road" vehicle, gravel and dirt really wears on the tires. After only 5 or 6 rides, the tires will start to crack and get holes in them if you are riding it off road. If you plan to only use it for street riding (sidewalks, driveways, etc), then it will be fine. If you plan on running it over dirt, mud, and grass, you will be replacing the tires on a regular basis.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

20 years old, Pregnant, College student?




Kristen Ni


Hello. My boyfriend and I have been together 9 months. I work at my dads company ( My dad is pretty high up in the company) My boyfriends dad also works at the company and is even higher in rank than my dad. We both go to school in the mornings and work part time. I have 1 year left for my associates in arts, I was planning to get my masters and so was my boyfriend. I found out I am 3 weeks pregnant and I just need a plan. I have no clue what to do for money. What job can my boyfriend and I get that will allow us to provide for my baby. I grew up in a very comfortable lifestyle and I want to provide the same life for my kids, But how can I when I am not ready financially for this baby. any suggestions?
To answer Brie's Mommy, My last period was February 3rd, I looked online to see how far along I am after taking my test yesterday and it came back positive and they had me enter my last period and based on that I am 3 weeks and 2 days. I dont understand the math, Especially since I take Nuva Ring normally Continuously reccommended by my doctor but due to spotting I was told to take out the Nuva ring and let myself have a period for a week and then put it in. I took it out as instructed and once my period ended my boyfriend and I had sex so February 8 but I had not put a nw nuva ring in. I didnt think i could show up positive so soon?
What is your schedule like? with you and your boyfriend? I dont mean to be nosey but how much do you guys make an hour? How much is rent?? Just trying to get an idea of where i need to be at by the end of this 9 months. p.s- thanks your making me feel more at ease and like i can do this.
What is your schedule like? with you and your boyfriend? I dont mean to be nosey but how much do you guys make an hour? How much is rent?? Just trying to get an idea of where i need to be at by the end of this 9 months. p.s- thanks your making me feel more at ease and like i can do this.



Answer
I am 21 years old, married, working, have 2 children (3 yr old son and 3 month old daughter), and going to school for nursing. so you can do it, it is possible. not the easiest, but possible.

my husband and i both work, we are renting a house, pay all of our own bills, and our children have more than they could need/want. money wise..our bills (rent, gas, electric, water, cell phones, house phone/high speed internet, car insurance, car payment, dish) come to roughly $1400 a month. i live in a small town so rent is cheaper here than other places. my husband works 40 hours a week monday through friday. currently im working 32 hours a week.

"Right now you're about 3 weeks pregnant. Your baby-in-the-making is a tiny ball of several hundred cells that are multiplying madly. In the next week or two, you may see a positive result on a pregnancy test." it is weird that you already have had a positive test. it is rather soon for this. your due date will be Nov. 10th. i know this because my last period before my daughter was feb 3rd, 2010, she was due nov 10th, 2010, and born nov. 13th. was your period that started on the 3rd normal? if it was lighter maybe you have been pregnant longer and it was just some bleeding (spotting or maybe implantation bleeding)? having a pd on the 3rd and conceiving on the 8th doesn't sound right. my pd was on the 3rd and we conceived the 14th. i know this because we only had sex the 14th and the 26th of feb. so it had to be the 14th. so our time line was. feb 3rd - starting pd, feb 14th - conceived, march 6th - found out we were 4 weeks pregnant.

school, work, homework, studying, and a baby is not easy. it can have frustrating moments. just try hard and so your best. that bundle of joy will be worth all the hard work and sacrifices.

good luck hun.

I feel like I'm 30 years old w// 2 kids...im only 17?




poorgirl!!


well, my Mom car broke and she lost her job so, I'm being forced to get a job. It's so much stress, I have to pay bills etc && feed my family..I have to walk a mile and ahalf to school everyday, whether its snowing or not. sometimes my grandma will give me a ride, but i can tell she dont like giving me one, so i just get bundled up and walk! then, after school, i have to walk again..My aunt lives right in front of the school and I asked her for a ride and she told me she doesn't have gas. She always has gas in her car, && as i was walking she let her sister take her car, to go to the store. i feel like im worthless. when my mom had a car, i would take her daughter everywhere, even if i was on dead E! like she just didn't care at all. nobody will give me a ride, so im forced to walk,w/ a soar throat.All i have is slippers and flats, i'm saving my money up for some warm boots now...

Plus, i have to go to school, its so much stress. somedays, just wanna drop out because its so much stress. but, i wanna grow up and take care of my mom one day. i dont want to be broke and have my kids walking a mile and a half...i wake up worrying about, "is the electric going to get cut off today" or "how am i going to get to school".....ifeel like i shouldn't have to worry about these kinda things and everybody at school thinks i have the most perfect life ever. i barely even get to eat. my dad doesn't care at all, he even told me i wasn't his daughter, alli could do is cry, because i don't understand why he's so mean to me..

Any advice?
WOW YOU DIDNT EVEN READ THE QUESTIONI SAID I "FEEL"! I DONT HAVE KIDS!



Answer
yeah---finish school and get the h*** out of there as soon as you turn 18.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

ideas for electric cars and increasing range?




Daniel


Ok so ive seen some of these electric cars and have seen some things that make me think, huh what if they did this. Here is a list.

1. I've noticed a lot of electric cars there front ends are rather dull and have no intake into the engine. What if we took car design like those we see today and their radiator grills and instead of putting in a radiator put in a wind turbine to power the batteries. This would increase drag, but would the increase in drag really damage the increased electricity output from the wind turbine and even the increase in drag it should be very little since the air has to leave too and if enough research is done could the drag actually be very minute. I could see if a car was going freeway speeds wind would be entering the wind turbine at 65 mph + and even though the generator is much smaller than the giant winds used to power homes, wouldn't this overall increase the range?

2. Solar panels. Only one car I know of has solar panels and that is the fisker karma. Solar panels are getting quite cheap so couldn't they shape them into the roof line and even possibly the hood and other body panels.

3. alternators or some sort of generator on the axle. I read somewhere else that this wouldn't actually work and would consume more energy as the battery efficiency and alternator efficiency is not quite there yet, but if the efficency were to increase could that be more beneficial.

Im not complaining, but i know i dnt have the power or resources or know how to do these things and test them and they are just ideas. If any one who reads this does have the resources to have these tested and create more efficent electric vehicle. please feel free. tell me what you think of these ideas.



Answer
It is good that you consider options, however some understanding of the work that has been done before will allow you to work on the edge of what is known rather than simply "reinventing the wheel."

In the study of physics there are long established rules that predict how our world operates. One of those is known as the law of conservation of energy. Briefly it says that energy cannot be created or destroyed (only conserved.) For this reason we can never get more energy out of a vehicle than we put into it. Any additional energy would have to come from a different source.

Another way of looking at the problem is to notice that the energy to make a car move must overcome various forms of resistance. The tendency for a car to stay put is one called inertia. Gravity, rolling resistance, wind resistance, and internal mechanical resistance are others. We can recover some of the energy put into making the car move. But tapping into the inertia of a vehicle will slow it down. The practical application is regenerative braking. The same may be said for trying to capture the air moving around a moving car from inside the vehicle. Neither of these approaches will give more range than could be calculated from the energy put into the vehicle. We can only hope to make the vehicle more efficient. But as the electric car is already about 90% efficient there is not a great deal of room for improvement.

So we need to gather more energy for more range. Better batteries that hold more will do this but at some increase in weight. Solar panels will add only a very little because calculations and some experimentation has shown that most commercial vehicles could only add about 2 to 3 miles of travel for each hour that they sit in the sun. The solar panels are too inefficient, the sun's energy too diffuse and the area of a vehicle too limited. Only by designing super efficient, single seater, aerodynamic vehicles like solar racers can we get the sun to power a vehicle, but this is not the typical family vehicle. ( see the American Solar Challenge and the Australian World Solar Challenge )

Another alternative is to transmit power to the vehicle. This has been done with overhead wires, but more recently the power has been transmitted through the roadway. (Korean http://www.businessinsider.com/south-korean-roads-power-electric-cars-2013-8 )

Another solution like solar vehicle is to create energy on the vehicle using a hybrid engine, a fuel cell or perhaps someday an atomic battery: http://www.technologyreview.com/news/404293/the-atomic-battery/

Help with information about electric cars?




Metallica_


I am thinking about one but had some questions I would like to know before going to the dealer:
1. How much does it cost to get the charging station in stalled in your house?
2. Can you not get a charging stations and use you 110 out?
3. What happes if you run out of charge while on the road?
4. I have seen a few electirc charging stations around, any idea what they cost?
5. How much are the batteries to replace?
6. Are they reliable?
7. Is there still oil (needing oil changes)?
8. Was the $7.5k tax credit good for 2013 (filingin 2014)?
9. Other things I need to know?

Please help even if you do not have all of the answers. I am very interested in one of these cars and would like some education before I go to the dealer.



Answer
I just recently went through this process, and after two months of driving an electric vehicle (EV), here's what I know:

1. How much does it cost to get the charging station in stalled in your house?
It can cost anywhere between $2000-5000 for a Level 2 charger at home, but you really don't need one. The advantage is that the Level 2 charger will add 10-20 miles to your battery per hour. I have been managing fine with my home charger and the ChargePoint network.

2. Can you not get a charging stations and use you 110 out?
Yes. The complimentary charger you get from the dealer is a Level 1 (or Trickle) Charger and adds 2-5 miles on the battery per hour. So at the end of a trip where you are spending an overnight stay or at the end of the day, plug in the car and let it charge overnight. you will be ready to go in the morning. I've been managing fine, as I mentioned earlier, with the home charger.

3. What happes if you run out of charge while on the road?
You usually get a warning before you reach this point once you dip under the "10 miles remaining" mark. CarWings (my on-board GPS and car monitoring system) offers me the option to find the closest charging station, but if I can't make it I can call AAA and ask for a tow to the nearest charging location.

4. I have seen a few electirc charging stations around, any idea what they cost?
As I mentioned before I am with ChargePoint which is like an ATM for EV chargers. So far, I've used $5 of it for when I spent an evening in Old Town Manassas, VA. Depending on the chargers, though, they may be free. For example, at my day job, there is an array of Level 2 charging stations and all of them are free. The stations are free as they are plugged into a solar array.

5. How much are the batteries to replace?
Battery cost varies from make, model, and range. Check with your dealer, but they should be covered in the car warranty.

6. Are they reliable?
Absolutely. After two months, I've been driving my EV without fail and it is a delight to drive. Smooth ride. Whisper quiet. And all the perks (entertainment center, rear view camera, passenger seat warmers, etc.) are all standard. It really is a great car and a fantastic ride.

7. Is there still oil (needing oil changes)?
Nope. The electric motor does not require any kind of oil change. The only regular maintenance you need to worry about is brake maintenance.

8. Was the $7.5k tax credit good for 2013 (filingin 2014)?
I leased so Nissan took the tax breaks on the car which brought the cost of the car down from $37K to $27K. The three year lease is $234/month which, for this car, is amazing.

9. Other things I need to know?
Travel along the Interstate will drain the barry faster so when you can, take U.S. routes that have a lot of hills. With the regenerative braking system you can recharge the battery as you drive. There is a learning curve when you drive an EV but it is a real delight when you get the knack for it. The biggest challenge is the infrastructure. We need more charging stations, preferably Level 3 Quick Charge stations. This was why I leased the Nissan LEAF. In three years, I will see what the infrastructure and charge station networks are like, and then decide what to do next.

I am also enjoying the experience so much that I'm blogging about it for APUS' green blog. Please, feel free to swing by and check it out.

Good luck.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Thursday, February 6, 2014

What happened to the electric cars and why don't they make them anymore?




Searcher


I was a child in the 70s when the electric cars came about and it seems like you don't see them any more?

Does anyone know why, other than they would be 30 years old now?



Answer
Hopefully they will come back and be affordable in the near future as battery technology improves, but here is the run down on why they were only concepts or projects:

1 - Battery packs weigh 1000 pounds
2 - Batteries lose full capacity after only 2-3 years
3 - Even with 1000 pounds, range was either 40 miles at 80 mph, or 80 miles at 40 mph. Neither made anyone happy.
4 - "Filling up the tank" took 8-10 hours (recharging)
5 - Battery replacement cost every few years was hundreds of $$
6 - Car cost was twice that of a gas car
7 - Batteries took up the whole car's cargo space

However I am part of an EV club myself, and between lithium ion technology and ultra capacators, we should see an affordable one in about 10 years or so. Maybe sooner. The Tesla electric uses 6,000 lithium ion computer batteries and is already under a hundred thousand. $95,000.00 I think. $45,000 just for the replacement battery pack though. Give it time and it will come down.

In the meantime, get a diesel and run B100 biodiesel or get a used Hybrid. Hybrids fix all these problems because the battery pack (cost) can be very small, yet you still can go 300 miles without stopping.

Good luck, by asking this question, I can tell you are on the right direction to making a difference.

greencarcongress.com might interest you

Older child is bullying sibling -help!?




DiDi


My 5 year old has become very possessive of his space, toys, etc. and has increasingly been yelling at, pushing, and taunting his 2 yr. old brother. Today, he kicked him in the head. Time-outs, grounding, and sending him to his room just do not work as punishment for this and it keeps going on and seems to be getting worse. I prefer to use corporal punishment only for truly dangerous situations when other options have failed (child running into street, messing with electric outlets, etc.). I could use some advice here. Should I be spanking my older son for this behavior or would it make things worse (with him then thinking that hitting is "ok")? I need a solution from parents who have been through this. It is completely unacceptable for my older son to be treating my younger son this way but I don't want to escalate the situation -but clearly something needs to be done to protect the younger one.


Answer
If you spank your oldest son, he will not think that makes it okay for him to hit. Just because you take away a toy as punishment doesn't make him think he can do the same to his brother. I know, he already hits, pushes his brother around, and already takes toys away from him. If you don't put a stop to it, it could escalate. Children understand the difference between hitting and spanking. If they don't understand completely, they can learn really quick.

People are not allowed to hit, but a spanking is a disciplinary action used to stop/prevent the misbehavior of someone you are responsible for. Children know that responsible adults are allowed to drive cars, but they are not. Children need to learn that they can play catch outside, but can't throw balls at people's heads or inside the house at all.

Children need to learn that responsible adults will do whatever it takes to teach their children to behave and follow instruction, but that doesn't mean children can hit or mistreat people (especially their little brothers who they should treat with kindness and care). As it is, you are the only person who can stand up for your 2-year old. Truthfully, it sounds like your 5-year old needs his whole general attitude worked on.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

2013 Ford Fusion Hybrid?




RoyalBoltz


The 2013 Ford Fusion Hybrid, a hybrid is a car that, must be charged in order to accelerate right?
Is it only chargeable alone? Or is it, chargeable, and gas powered? Both? With the 2013 FFHybrid.

Also how do you charge the 2013 FFHybrid? Do we have to drive some where like a electric station
to charge it? Or can it be charged from home?
Try to answer all the Question Marks thanks.



Answer
Hi RoyalBoltz,

The 2013 Fusion Hybrid is powered by both an electric and a gasoline motor, however there is no charging required. The electric motor stores power regained from the regenerative braking system. The regenerative braking system captures energy otherwise lost as heat during vehicle braking, recovering over 90% of the brake energy and recharging the lithium-ion battery.

There's no need to charge the vehicle at an electric station or at home - the vehicle "charges" itself by storing the regained power.

The Fusion Energi is Ford's plug-in hybrid version of the Fusion. You can learn more about that particular model here: http://www.ford.com/cars/fusion/features/#page=Feature2

Have a great day!
Crystal

Should I buy 2013 or 2014 Accord possibly electric 2014 accord or another similar car?




brian


In the next few months I will prepare to buy new car. I currently have a 2003 Accord and don't expect much action on the trade in(its has<100K miles but let me know if I am wrong at that). So here is my main question(s). Should I wait until July when the new 2014's come out? I mean what is the difference in value? Defining value with a quasi equation like price/year+new options. Is it worthwhile for me to wait until the 2014 model year comes out. Also, in 2014 an electric version comes out which claims 100+ mpg at the same time says something like 46 mpg - I live in the city so I my commute is rather short and this may be in my wheelhouse. I am wondering also about TCO (total cost of ownership) estimated break even point, tax incentives and peoples experience with electric cars. I typically keep my cars for 10 years if that is a help. Also, I am looking for some good strategies to get the best landed price for my purchase.


Answer
As long as the range limitations of an electric car work with your driving needs, it will save you money on fuel and maintenance - a lot of money.
*
A typical gas-fueled car costs over $200/month to fuel with gasoline. The same miles on electricity cost less than $40 per month - maybe even less than $20 (check with your utility, they may have special overnight EV charging rates.)
*
Plus, electric motors don't need oil changes, filters, fluids, spark plugs, tune-ups or any other regular maintenance. Some people worry about batteries, but modern EV battery formulas are very long-lived (likely to be at least 150,000 miles.)
*
The purchase price will be higher, but remember to consider the total cost of driving, not just the cost of the car. A monthly payment that's $150 higher is no big deal if you are saving $200 on fuel cost.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

how much should this crap cost per week?

Q. gasoline
liscense (vehicle)
Car insurance
repairs
loan payment
bus/taxi
groceries
medical insurance
medical expenses
clothing
personal grooming
education
hobbies
entertainment
gifts n charity
child care
Furniture
appliances

assuming you were a single parent with an infant


Answer
It depends on many factors..where I live (BFE small town, small state) it would break down monthly as follows:
gasoline: 200
license: 20
car insurance: 42 (for 3 vehicles, 1 full coverage)
repairs: 20
loan na
bus/taxi: na
groceries: 500
medical ins: 140
medical expense: 30
clothing: 75
personal grooming: 15
education: na
hobbies, entertainment, gifts, etc: any leftover money that I felt necessary to these categories
childcare: up to $2 and hour
furniture: na
appliances (assuming gas, electric, water, etc): 150
don't forget:
internet if needed:60
tv if needed: 35-120
phone: 35-70
If you are watching a budget, remember the difference between necessities and luxuries!
I should add, this is for a family of 5, with 3 kids - all teenagers. The only difference with a single parent and an infant would most likely be the grocery bill would be significantly smaller! We make $4000 per month.

I cheated on my wife but she's no angel either. Don't I deserve custody of the kids more than she does?




Annette


I've been married to this dumb, ditzy blonde idiot for 5 years. We have 3 year old twin daughters together. My wife lost a good job in 2010. Therefore, for two years, I've been paying the mortgage, the electric, the water, the cable and BOTH cell phone bills. Additionally, I've been paying BOTH of our cell phone bills, the note/insurance for MY car and the note/insurance for HER car too. Then there's food and miscellaneous luxuries that I have been paying for. And ONLY me. Not to mention, the government RAPES me for child support of the 9 year old son that I have with this trashy, welfare black chick that I used to bang back in the day. It would be MY luck that the only black girl I ever touched in my life would give me a kid. DNA test confirmed it and I sucked it up like a man. I'm not a racist "honky", I'm just a realist.

Moving on. I started having an affair last fall with this 19-year old girl and I'm STILL dating her now. That's ANOTHER story. She's the sexiest, most tender half white/half Asian hottie in the world. This young girl drives me nuts! All she wants to do is fight with me, ask me for money, make jealous comments about my wife and worst of all, this girl is the BIGGEST cry-baby ever. But I love her for some odd reason. Well, my wife didn't find out that I was cheating until March of this year and then she took our daughters and left me to stay with her parents. Barely a WEEK after that, she finds an apartment and a guy moves in with her! While my freaking children are there! We've been fighting about that ever since. Finally, we recently decided that we want a divorce. My wife already agreed that I can keep the house and she offered me joint custody of our little girls. Granted, she found a decent job a few weeks ago because her BOYFRIEND'S FATHER owns the company. I'm upset because this doesn't sound right to me. I dealt with her entire family and her friends calling me a cheating pig and saying that I don't deserve a "good woman like her". Okay, I cheated and in fact, the "little home wrecker"(as people call her) and her 20 month old son(no, he's not my kid) are both living in my house. But did I mention that it took my wife a WEEK after she left me to find an apartment and move her current boyfriend in? For her to deny that she hasn't been seeing this guy for just as long as I've been seeing my girlfriend, maybe even longer, it just doesn't make sense. I want FULL custody of our daughters but my wife said NO. I know that this is not a court but do you think I have a good chance when we start the divorce process? Also, would you NOT believe that your spouse was cheating on you too if he or she happened to find someone a WEEK after he/she leaves you? What should I do?



Answer
Custody has nothing to do with cheating spouses.. You sound like a man that makes bad choices in women. First you slept with a black women, got her pregnant. Why wasnt you wearing a condom? Secondly you married in your words a bimbo Also had 2 daughters. Then you pick up an asian scank. And you think your x wife has a problem!!Man your never going to get your daughters full time. You need to take a break from women and start to sort your life out and to make better choices of what kind of women you want to have around your daughters.Cant you see the pattern in what you pick for partners... Their all scatter brains.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Electric Car Conversion?




Anon


How difficult/expensive would it be to convert a rwd import into an electric car with the motor(s) in the trunk? Would it be better to have the batteries closer to the motor or in the front where the engine would normally be? Would it be better to have an independent motor for each wheel or just one motor for both wheels? Is there any way to get a car like this to 120-140 mph? What would be the best car to try with as far as lightweight? I am obviously not a car guy, and this is just an idea for a project if it is possible to accomplish. This car would be built like a racer/drifter depending on what is possible.

Please no haters, this is just curiosity.
@dick car guy- What if the car was for short races, 1/4 mile or short drift courses. and the transport was mainly towed by trailer? Wouldn't it require less batteries and possibly offer longer battery life from less use?



Answer
well I was looking this up myself yesterday, and from what I read it's enough info to discourage me from wanting to convert unless my engine dies on me. What I picked up from research generally was a complete kit will cost anywhere between 4000-8000 dollars, u need countless hours of work or you can get someone to do the work for you for $3000, and mileage and speed is limited (around 50-100 miles on a full charge and up to 80 mph). Oh you also need your entire front engine bay and a good part of your trunk to house the bulky batteries used to power your vehicle.
I'm not trying to discourage you from going through with this conversion, I'm just letting you know it's not easy.
If you really want an electric car, I suggest you search around your area where someone is selling his/her already converted electric car. Although theres only a few out there, you're bound to find some. Good luck on your project!

Looking for a Govt. Grant to purchase an New Electric Car.?




sacp


Please tell me where to find the right grants to apply for. Please no member ship sites as grants are free and so is the application.


Answer
No such grants -- otherwise everyone will be buying electric cars, which you obviously know is not true

You can go to the Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA) http://www.cfda.gov and Grants.gov http://www.grants.gov - these are two FREE sites created by the federal government to provide transparency and information on grants. Browse through the listings and see if you can find any grant that would support your purposes.

There's none




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Wednesday, February 5, 2014

will me and my kids be able to survive on our own?




aunisty


my husband came home from work afew days ago and i had this strong urge to go out to his truck. so i went there and was looking around and i found a pair of womens underware! i panicked, came in the house, started screaming and told him he had to leave right away.

he said he would leave.

he was mostly the bread winner and made approx. $3200 a month. i work my butt off as a CNA and only make $1950 a month after taxes. we have 5 kids ranging from ages 2-13, a pregnant dog expecting 10 puppies in june, and 2 other dogs. and we have a cat and a pet rat.

keep in mind, my cousin babysits the 2 younger kids for only $50 a week while i work and my house is paid off so i only have these bills-

house taxes- 100 a month
house insurance- 50 a month
cable, internet, phone package- 115 a month
electric- 65 a month
car insurance- 85 a month
heat- (summer months) 50 a month
and water and sewer $50 a month
and daycare 200 a month
and my fancy table im paying 45 a month on

i usually take the kids bowling or roller skating too for $30-40 a week so $120 a month
and i spend about $110 on the animals a month

and i pack home lunches for school.

will we be able to survive without my husband, and how soon can i get child support and what do i have to do?



Answer
You have done really well to have put your family budget together so quickly. This is definitely the first thought to consider when parting ways with an ex. You work way too hard to put up with any crap from Mr. Wiggley.

On the other hand, your ex is still the kids father and should be treated as such. Get to a lawyer right away and get an emergency hearing for child support. Your husband will fight back, so it is important to prepare carefully and cooly.

There is a complete guide for custody strategies from top experts that work with parents just like you every day and have been for 25 years.

Get many more answers for child custody at my website: http://www.forchildcustody.com

Beginning Building RC Car/Trucks?




AndrewAIID


I want to get into RC car/trucks I would like to know where to start? I want a simple build 1:10 scale truck to take off in dirt and what not. What do i need to build one? I don't want like a starter kit with all the parts, I would like to buy all the components separately and build. Could anyone give me a list of what parts I'd need for just a simple build that wont break my wallet. Also if anyone can give me their opinion on parts the favor most and/or what parts go together best. I'm new and never played with an rc car except walmart junkers would to tackle this head on piece by piece to make my own.


Answer
hey man, as an experienced rc hobbyist I dont recommend doing that.......Only reason is because you can not basically build one from the ground up...you have to buy kits or premade and modify/build them......

If you want to really enjoy it and get a assload of experience do this, buy a SMALL starter truck

I started out on a team losi mini lst2......drive that for about 6 months.....get the feel of rc cars, learn every manipulation, maneuver, and control about it. Learn how to take care of it and keep it properly maintained.

Then take it COMPLETELY apart... (except electronics like the esc and steering servo's) and rebuild it.....you will feel so confident and accomplished about it....

after 6 months at LEAST.....then buy a redcat racing volcano epx pro.....it is a basic 1/10th scale brushless truck (you can start out with this one too) if starting out do the same thing, but with this truck.......if you already started out with the lst2...then spend about 2-3weeks learning the new truck all over again ( until you are confident that you can drive that truck better than anyone else)...then take it to a local race, or find some friends locally that you can race for a small entry fee....

You will beat everyone almost guarenteed if you folllow what I say and you will earn money for better cars.......the first time I raced my truck ( I was 14) I expected to get my ass spanked and sent home......I left with 1st place trophy, 200$ check, 20$ in rc store credit and a lifetime membership card to their store ( usually 5.99 a month)........all the racers there were either grown men that did not have time to practice...or little kids that ride on their daddies fat wallet and expect their 9000mph car to kill everyone else.

After you get bored with these two trucks, then deeply think if you are ready to commit to a REAL hobby in rc racing, pursue working in a local hobby store and purchasing a really nice rc car to upgrade/race with.

Basically this is what I did....And I was VERY happy and successful in this hobby, I almost went in the state races and maybe nationals....but I realized that You will spend more money than you will make with these little guys...


Also, here is a video I made when I was 12!!!!!! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ht-XBwHHkds

it's really bad, but considering everyone else my age could only drive in modified straight lines I won alot of friendly races and competetition.

EDIT: also, to give u an idea how complex these little bastards are, just look at the volcano epx pro's user manual http://content.yudu.com/Library/A17zpn/RedcatRacingElectric/resources/index.htm?referrerUrl=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.yudu.com%2Fitem%2Fdetails%2F57112%2FRedcat-Racing-Electric-Vehicle-Manual




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

The Religion and False God of "Environmentalism"....?

Q. I don't at all think people should be poisoning our water or anything, but aren't our current environmentalists worshiping a false god? Although they don't wear a loincloth and name it "the sun god" or some of those other historical methods, they are still living their lives to appease the god of their almighty "environment".

They sacrifice to it via forgoing productivity, convenience and strong business; they are scared to offer it the wrong kind of burnt offerings (burning plastic, styrofoam, etc.); they have installed their radical religious environmentalism into our government and those around the world (EPA and such), and force everyone to comply with its current prophets; they bash anyone who doesn't have faith in global warming; they have world services and fellowships where leaders from around the globe gather to attend service. Some are even willing to kill others in the name of their god.

I'm not at all kidding or being sarcastic. Their beliefs are very much worshiping a false god and is very much a religion. They just don't want to call it that because it's unconstitutional to force everyone to worship their god (small g).
If you put your faith in it, then it is your religion.


Answer
Yes I know what you are saying and it is true, they in sense worship the earth or mother earth as some say. They care more about the earth then they do about people or God. Liberal nut jobs who tend to be hypocrites.

Global warming is a lie, when temperature changes are nothing more than a natural cycle of the earth and sun. While the real environmental issues like genetically modified food, water pollution, ground pollution are more of a real issue.

Electric cars for example, made of plastic fiberglass and batteries leave more pollution behind than if cars were made from metal and burn gas.

Does anyone know of some good sites where I can find out how to make animated props for a haunted house?




geminisgem


I want to make my own haunted house but would like to see examples of other haunted houses and the props used. Does anyone know where I could find this on the internet?
Thanks a bunch!



Answer
depends on how far you really want to take it.

Do you want pneumatic aligators that raise up out of the pond? Or do you just want cheap special effects acheiveable by everyday things around the house?

I can't really give any great sites for animated props, but I can tell you about a few I know how to create.

1) Jason Vorheeves. Hang a "scarecrow" from a tree in the yard and wire one arm to the front door. Freel free to place any item of scariness in Jason's arm. Everytime the front door opens, Jason's arm rises or lowers depending on how it was rigged. It's dark outside and no one will be able to see the rigg wires.

2) Crazy chainsaw weilding maniac or crazy straight saw weilding maniac. Make sure to remove any cutting blades off the electric tool. No chainsaw blades!!! No table saw wheel blades what so ever!!! Run at the neighborhood kids, with the tool going full blast, the noise and the air blast will scare the bajeebus outta' them.

3) Jail Cell Horror Scare. metal bars, rebar works great for this. Behind the jail cell bars is the insane lunatic wanting to get out. they rush the jail bars with two insulated pieces of rebar that are hooked up to the lowest car battery volt you can find. Slam the electric rebars against the jailcell bars and sparks will fly.

4) Electrocution Man. build a wooden chair with arm rests, place a "scarecrow" in the seat. Fasten him down at the wrists and chest area. His head must have a flexible rod of some sort to support the head wobbliness of the rest of the project. Use a modified sawzall or sabersaw, with the blade removed and replaced with a connection from the saw to the head's rod. Push button, listen to noise and watch as head and chest violently convulse scaring kids left and right that they are watching a real electrocution.

5) Glowing water fountain. Use your generic anyday old water fountain and add the contents of 2 or 3 glow sticks to the water. The water will glow on it's own. Can't get ahold of glow sticks? then use a few bright highlighters, pull out the cores and place the cores somewhere in the fountain to let the fluid dye the water. Careful the hightlighter core will stain your hands. Black lights make the hightlighter juice glow in the dark.

6) Glowing ice balls. use old cristmas lights and wire them with copper shielded wiring. place inside a baggy or cellophane filled with water. Freeze overnight, then wire up the ends to a toggle switch/lightswitch and then to a small battery. Can't get ahold of left over christmas lights? Then use one of those nifty push button lights from the Home Depot store, remove batteries, soder wire to the battery diodes and then rewire to a toggle switch/lightswitch and then to an extra baterry source.

7) Bleeding painting. Paint a lady with a choker necklace on a piece of luan. Cut only the lower section of the choker out of the painting, maybe an inch in width and a few millimeters in height the width of the blade. Hot glue a cheap Glad plastic dish on the back side of the painting over the whole. cut one whole in the top of the gladware item. Use a fishtank pump to pump the water to the gladware dish, via an extra hose. The fishtank pump pumps the water to the container the container fills the water escapes from the hole in the paintings neck and dribbles down to the receptacle purposefully made to catch the water and allow the fishtank pump to recycle.

I'm gonna' stop there, but I could go on for days. Halloween haunted houses are the best things ever!

Fog machines, dry ice, black lights, sound effects, and darkness make the whole thing even spookier.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Electric Powered Ride-On Cars for toddlers- which to buy? Where to buy?




lysistrata


I want to buy one for my son for christmas. However, I looked at amazon and there are so many different ones. Some are cheap, like $40 while others are $500. I can't figure out what makes one different from another. Which do you recommend? And where are good places to buy them? Thanks so much!


Answer
http://www.toysrus.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2842469

We got this one a year ago for our oldest and are about to buy another one for our youngest. I see it got not great reviews but honestly we love it. It is decently priced and they have a blast with it!
We don't have to worry about them falling out because the seat sits down, we go for walks while he drives all over the neighborhood and never have battery issues, and it was simple enough for them to learn quickly.

Electric Powered Ride-On Cars for toddlers- which to buy? Where to buy?




lysistrata


I want to buy one for my son for christmas. However, I looked at amazon and there are so many different ones. Some are cheap, like $40 while others are $500. I can't figure out what makes one different from another. Which do you recommend? And where are good places to buy them? Thanks so much!


Answer
My hubby wants to buy my daughter one of those, and they are very very pricey.

They have them at Toys R' Us. We were told the the Escalade is very good, that it lasted their kids 3 summers. They also said that the Jeep SUCKS, it only lasted 1 summer.

Hope that helps. :)




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

How much does an electric car cost?




mobleez


How much does the average electric car cost?
How much does it cost to charge one?
Does it cost any extra to run and keep?
If anyone knows just how much a car costs to own (buying and keeping) that would be brill.
Thanks



Answer
How much does the average electric car cost?
There are limited options for buying an electric car from a major manufacturer at the moment (Jan 2013). Tesla Model S $50,000 and up, Nissan Leaf $34,000, Mitsubishi imeiv $29,000, Smart ED $25,000, and a couple others I forget about.

How much does it cost to charge one?
Since they're tiny, the smart car or the imev will consume about 250 watt hours per mile. So take your local utility rate to figure out the fuel cost. Example: 10¢ per 1000 watt hours (Kwh) means 10¢ will take you about 4 miles. 10¢ ÷ 4 miles = 0.025 (2¢) per mile. The larger tesla or the leaf will consume about 300whpm.

Does it cost any extra to run and keep?
No. Electric cars don't need belts, spark plugs, oil filters (or oil anyway), engine coolant, radiators, and a host of other maintenance hassles. The lithium batteries will need to be replaced every 10 years (ballpark).

If anyone knows just how much a car costs to own (buying and keeping) that would be brill.
An electric car costs about 1/7 that of a gas car for fuel (electricity vs gasoline) Also, an electric car costs â that of a gas car for upkeep and maintenance, even after battery replacement is considered. I'm not sure what you mean by "brill".

Did you hear Chevy has a new electric car called the spark?




Burning Pe





Answer
Americans are still somewhat clueless when it comes to electric cars, but Chevy's strategy is to sell the all-electric Spark heavily into Europe and Asia.
*
The car will debut in 2013.
*
GM has to go down this road. First of all, adding all electric cars to it's lineup improves it's average fuel economy, needed in order to meet future mandated fuel-efficiency standards.
*
Secondly, if American companies don't make electric vehicles, Asian and European car companies will steal the entire market.
*
Japanese carmaker Nissan just demonstrated 10-minute recharging for their Leaf electric car. Over the next few years, the range of the car will increase, and the cost of the vehicle will slowly come down. 5-minute recharge has also been demonstrated, for electric buses.
*
Walgreen drugs recently announced they are installing EV fast-chargers for the Leaf at their stores. Other retailers are considering this, too. (Meijer, Best Buy, CostCo.)
*
Put these things together, and you can see why US carmakers have to compete. Gas cars could be obsolete in 10 years. If anything, the Detroit automakers are not responding fast enough to this threat.
*
PS. - to the poster pointing out that some electricity is made with dirty energy, the same amount of dirty energy is used to refine gasoline - about 6 KWH of energy for each gallon refined. So both kinds of cars use the same amounts of "upstream" energy. But the gas car burns large amounts of dirty "downstream" energy, while the EV doesn't burn any. This is why EVs are so much cleaner, and much more energy efficient (and much cheaper to fuel.)




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Tuesday, February 4, 2014

how can i make a remote control car go faster?




warlooker


i brought a small remote control car about less than $20.00 hoping i can make it go faster.
how can i make it go faster i want to put a battery in so the motor can spin faster and oil my gears.
but is there any other way to do it.
thank you guys for helping.



Answer
For $20.00 you can't expect to get much more out of the car. It's not really built for speed at that price. Basically, this is a kids toy. There is a huge difference between remote control cars for kids and remote control cars for adults. The complexities of the cars have a very wide gap. Kids cars will run on just a few AA batteries. RC cars for adults feature full miniature engines. Lots of the popular motor kits run on fuel such as gasoline or nitro. Others run on large battery packs that are essentially beefed up versions of kids toys. These cars require just as much maintenance as a real car, since they have all of the same components (plus all of the radio transmitting gear!) to deal with.

So you may want to save up and get your moneys worth by opting for petrol, nitro or electric models. The fastest engine choice that you can find is a nitro engine. Nitromethane is an alternative to regular gasoline, and runs much better for RC cars. It is usually heavier, and therefore more cumbersome on the handling of the car. However, if you are going to be on a fairly straightforward and tame race course, it is a great choice and will provide a huge speed. The only down side is that nitro engines are known for wearing down faster, and breaking at a higher rate. If you use a nitro engine frequently, you can almost expect it to break after intense usage. It is a good idea to have an electric engine that you can swap it out with when the need arises.

The other parts of the car are equally important when you are aiming for absolute fastness. If you are you going all-out on a project, you should expect to spend quite a bit on components like wheels and axels. Usually you want to get wheels that are extremely firm and light. If you have the opportunity to go out to a hobby store and test out a few different components, you will be able to decide exactly what you want based on experiencing it first-hand. This is the best way to shop for anything, and the same goes for remote control cars. Since the parts are usually highly swappable, you can directly compare one with another by trying them in quick succession.

If you arenât a very technically inclined person, the thought of picking all of these parts might not sound very fun. However, you might not have to go through this process. It is possible to buy kits that include all top of the line parts, and are quite easy to assemble. With these you wonât get the high level of customization that you would get out of building a regular home-made car. Being able to choose all of the parts separately is a great benefit, although 90% of the time you can replace individual parts if you decide that you want to go for something that is of a higher quality or a little bit faster than what you had before.

All of these things really add up. If you have one part of a car that doesnât perform as well, the entire thing will be affected. Therefore you need to choose your parts carefully to have the best remote controlled car possible.

Do pure electric cars and plug-in cars have a transmission, automatic or standard? Can you buy an electric car?




Steve


with a stick shift?


Answer
"Electric cars" are not a factory produced standard machine. It is a class of vehicle power and there are many variations. Electric vehicles that use a standard electric motor can have that motor installed in a number of locations and this may in part dictate what kind of transmission if any is used.

An EV with wheel motors will have no other drive train components.

An EV with a motor installed in an axle may also have no other drive train components.

An EV with a motor installed between passenger seats will need a rear differential to (un) equalize wheel rotation and may have some gearing to change the motor speed to the drive shaft speed. It is possible to change the performance of the vehicle from power to economy modes with gearing changes but this is more efficiently done electronically so this is the method that is customarily used.

In a petrol vehicle the engine will only reach sufficient torque levels from about 3000 to 5000 RPM. In order to maintain those engine speeds a transmission is used. The electric motor can have full torque at 0 RPM and therefore a transmission may not be necessary and if the Tesla experience is of value it is more trouble than it is worth.

A major class of exceptions is conversion vehicles. These are vehicles that are converted from petrol engines to electric and often leave the transmission in place for the mechanical reverse gear. The clutch is removed as is generally not necessary for shifting. Operators often leave the vehicle in 2ed gear.

I once owned an MG midget with a switch on the dash for directional lights that would not cancel automatically. It was a lot of fun to drive. Similarly model T Fords where the dwell angle could be adjusted from the dash (the spark) would be fun to drive. But extra controls in traffic with kids screaming in the back may not be the choice of many vehicle consumers. We have to pick our vehicles according to what we want from them.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

How can someone raise their kids on low wages.?




Keepersdau


How can someone support four children, by only making 10 or 11.00 an hour?


Answer
As Stephen said, there is assistance out there, you just need to see if you qualify. You can apply for WIC and Food Stamps, you can apply for housing and daycare subsidies. You can also apply for energy assistance to help cover the electric and gas. Just call your local provider and ask if there is a program.

I shopped consignment and thrift stores for clothes. Only buy at retail stores when there's a sale.

We did without cable. We got channels 8, 10, and 13 and both old movie channels. Not one of the kids ever complained.

Get a landline instead of a cell phone.

Apply for Child Support for the kids, you don't have to be divorced, you don't need a lawyer, just go down to Family Court and fill out the paperwork, turn it in, ask for a copy and attend your court date. Don't forget to request medical and dental insurance coverage on the kids as part of your child support. Child support is retroactive to the day you file, so if you are not receiving it, go do that Monday.

Have dinner on Sundays at Moms, lol.

Make sure your car is paid for so you don't have that payment and you aren't required to carry Comprehensive on your insurance.

Pre-plan where your income tax return will get you the best savings....know where that money goes because it's so hard to come by a lump sum these days. If Bobby plays baseball, set that money aside for when the season starts.

I wish you luck, dear,
and God bless you and yours.

Yard Sale Help please?




Airsoft M


I need help with two things:

About how many items should I have to attract buyers to my yard sale?

And, I also need help pricing some items. So far, I've only gotten the kids section done, so I'll ask you for that.

1 Nice, wooden clock.
2 RC Jeep w/ Controller
3 Virtual Reality Power Rangers
4 Kids 4-pc. drum set w/ sticks
5 Night Vision Binoculars
6 Walkie Talkie (pair)
7 Airsoft AK-47 w/ Magazines
8 BB jars of 500
9 Godzilla Move PSP
10 Game Boy game

11 Comics
12 Paper back books
13 Hard cover books
14 Musician Busts
15 Blue Man electric keyboard
16 Harry Potter Light Up Wand
17 Airsoft M14 w/ accessories
18 Airsoft Pistol w/ Magazine
19 Airsot Shotgun
20 57 collector hot wheel cars w/case
21 Plastic Storage Case
22 Harry Potter Golden Snitch w/ stand



Answer
I don't have garage sales unless I have a ton of stuff to put out. I'm a huge garage saler but don't even bother stopiing if there isn't much out there. Most of m items I kept under $2 unles it was still new in box or something...I'd sa 1/2 of what the retail value was. I also did boxes where everything in one was $1 or another was all .50. All hanging clothes one set price. Makes it easier on you and the customers and give a good deal when the buy multiple items but don't get ripped off by cheap skates.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Any one intrested in buy my car?




Sukhi


Peugeot 206 style 2002 1.1 Liter Engine 3 Door Hatchback Blue Petrol Manual Engine size 1124 Mileage 79,000 Front electric windows Central locking Power Steering Car Air Bag System CD Player + Matching car 13pc Dragon Seatcover Set in Blue No road Tax

I brought this 206 for my first car in 1st of September 2012 from Birmingham city centre the guy was asking for 1000 pound but l got him to knock the price down to 930
I still have Prof of purchase. After buying the car l was doing a little job for an agency to pay my way around the car like insurance and the rest but the problem was the agency no longer had work And l was getting high
Car insurance quotes where l couldn't afford it cause of unemployment. Then soon my car road tax had expired so now l couldn't get tax with out insurance.me knowing nothing about car because it was my first car my friend told me l carnt have the car parked out side the house with out tax and insurance so then he advised me to sorn the car of road which l did by contacting dvla.and l have the car parked at my family private car park up Sutton Coldfield
Its been 5 month know since buying the car and the gutted thing about it is l haven't even driven my car the once its just park.
The car is in good condition has all past service history and the previous owner of the car was a lady driver which was having a baby due to this she needed a 5door car.
But over all the car is very good and kept in good condition. If l was still working l wouldn't neva have advertised my car trust me.l just want the car sold know need some cash,

You can see picture of the car by using this link or copy and paste url

http://www.flickr.com/photos/91889238@N05/

MOT Expiry Date is August 27th 2013

Car is parked at private car park in Sutton Coldfield you will have to view car here

Ok about selling the car l spent 930 give me a price ono.
Message me with price so we can come to some sort of arrangment.

My email is

Sukhishonta@Hotmail.co.uk



Answer
Nope!

Would you consider me spoiled?




Misorlou


Hello, I'm 16 years old and I'm perturbed (not sure if I used that word correctly) by the fact that some people I know call me spoiled, even a family member. I own an iPhone 5, Xbox 360 (I paid for), PS3 and a laptop that cost about $2000. I don't own many video games for the Xbox or PS3, but I have a ton for my PC (courtesy of Steam Summer Sales.) I will be getting a car within the next few days (2013 Dodge Charger SXT, about $31000). The clothes I own are from (for the most part), Abercrombie & Fitch, Hollister, American Eagle, Brooks Brothers, brands you would find in Macy's (Izod, Polo, Club Room, etc.) I'm not a shoe-freak like some dudes in my school, I have only five pairs (one for everyday use, semi-casual "boat shoes", a pair for formal occasions and two pairs for athletic related activities.) I play violin (I play in my schools orchestra), electric bass (I'm the bassist of my band), a little bit of electric guitar and a little bit of drums. I own two violins, two bass guitars, an electric guitar and a drum set. I also travel a lot. I've been to the UK, Ireland, France, Spain, Andorra, Italy, Germany, Austria, Australia and Egypt. Just a couple weeks ago, I attended a summer program at Georgetown University.

In regards to the life I have around me, I live in a 3 story house (including basement.) Both my parents make six figure salaries. I live in a very affluent area of the countruy (Westchester, NY.) For the car, I am not paying for it, nor am I paying for the gas. All I have to do is keep my grades up. Also, I didn't force/beg my parents to get me the Charger, they told me that they were getting a new car and asked for my input on it. I used to have a job (Subway), but my grades started to slip so I quit. People call me spoiled because they I say I don't appreciate the things my parents do for me. I wouldn't say I'm not thankful, I am very thankful, it's just that I have been raised in this type of manner my whole life so I really don't know how different life is for some. I know that not everyone can be as fortunate as I and my family have been, but I've never had to live like it. I also think that they are quite hypocritical because they probably have similar, if not the same things that I do. So, do you guys think I'm spoiled? Do you think I have a lot of things, but don't act spoiled? Do you think I don't have a lot of things, but do act spoiled? Please let me know how you guys feel about this.



Answer
YES....WHY DO YOU BRAG??




Powered by Yahoo! Answers